Posted by: emilywil | January 14, 2009

Twitter, Twitter, Twitter!!

twitter1   My recent encounter with Twitter had left me quite confused the past couple of days, but with numerous hours on the laptop I finally feel like I might actually know what I’m doing.  I understand and advocate the meanings of why we are using Twitter and am glad Dr. Nixon has shown us this nifty little tool. 

  In the past week I have socially connected to about forty people within the Public Relations field that have the same interest that I do and could possibly help me in the future, or better yet right now.  I have seen a lot of people put up links to internships within PR, PR news, and basic information about what to do to be successful within the job field. 

  Twitter has not only shown me PR people, but also connected me with funny news stories (which has helped with my journalism class) and kept me up to date on recent events that I would love to do in my spare time such as Cirque du Soleil and the Georgia Aquarium.

  Even though Twitter started off very confusing, I know it will help me to connect and stay connected with fellow PR people.  I also have come to consider it a job tool to communicate with experienced PR workers, where as my Facebook is a tool to communicate with my peers and can sometimes get you into trouble.  I’m glad I learned how to access this tool, and now fully understand the importance of social networking within the PR field.

Responses

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Twitter is a little confusing at first for almost everyone. Thanks for sticking with it and sharing your thoughts, Emily. (And say hi to your dad for me!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

