Posted by: emilywil | April 5, 2009

Can Two Words Express the Views of a Major Corporation? I Think So!

   In class on March 30th, we went over advertising slogans.  Dr. Nixon began the class witha crossword puzzle of some of the major slogans from the past twenty years.  These included Nike with “Just Do It” and from the legendary Tony the Tiger, ‘They’re Grrrreat!”  for Frosted Flakes.  We went over the importance of a slogan and how just two or three catchy little words can be the face of a company. 

    As I have been trying to make myself more aware of things in the PR and Marketing community, I have began to notice little tendencies within the advertising world.  For example the AT&T commercial has the slogan “More Bars in More Places,” I might be a little slow, however I just noticed that throughout the whole commercial you can see representation of the ascending bars. The slogan “More Bars in More Places,” I believe it is a very smart way to market  AT&T to the travelers and businessmen of the world.  I know my dad travels all over the place and has a hard time finding a phone when he is out of the country.  This campaign appeals to the people who need a phone in more places than just there local hometown.   In this commercial you will notice the bars displayed as bread, newspapers, trees, and buildings while blending in with the scene.  This commercial can be found below.

Responses

  1. I have also been trying to make myself more aware of things in the PR and Marketing field, and now i can never watch commercials in the same way. I am constantly looking at them in a more critical view, like who the campaign is appealing to and how they are getting the message across, the same way you analyzed the AT&T campaign.

  2. […] Comment on Emily Williams blog post “Can Two Words Express the Views of a Major Corporation? I think so“, April 5, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

