Posted by: emilywil | April 29, 2009

Time Magazine’s Most Influential People: 2009

#37 on Time's List

#37 on Time's List

  It’s that time of year again, the time when Time Magazine releases it’s “World’s Most Influential Person” issue.  As a kid, I used to skim the pages of Time and be bored to tears, except for this issue.  This issue was special, it had pictures of N’Sync, Micheal Jordan, the Simpson’s, and then a lot of old bald guys.  Little did I know, that this issue was much more than my favorite celebrities, it was an issue dedicated to those people in the world who influence it in a positive and negative way. 

  When the list of 2009 popped up, I naturally assumed Barack Obama was a shoe in for the number one person of the year award, however, I was wrong.  Obama, our first African-American president would surely take the cake right? Wrong!  It was someone I had never heard of before, a twenty-one year old student named Christopher Poole.  All I could think was who in the world is Christopher Poole? And what has he done better than Oprah and the Pope?  Well, come to find out, Poole was the founder of 4chan.org, a website that to me seemed like a bunch of categorized chat rooms that anyone could write on.  The website describes it as:

“4chan is a simple image-based bulletin board where anyone can post comments and share images. 4chan’s collaborative-community format is copied from one of the most popular forums in Japan, Futaba Channel. Different boards are dedicated to different topics, from Japanese anime, manga, and culture to videogames, music, and photography. Users do not need to register a username before participating in the community. Feel free to click on a board that interests you, and jump right in—anyone can contribute!”

    

#31 on Time's List.  Britney Spears? Seriously?

#31 on Time's List. Britney Spears? Seriously?

While I am left puzzled on how this website beat out our first African-American president (Obama), a cancer survivor (Lance Armstrong), or the U.S. Speaker of the House (Nancy Pelosi), I began to think that maybe this list is suppose to make you think.  When I look at number thirty-one on the list, it is Britney Spears and at number thirty-seven is Barack Obama, I am slightly embarrassed.  The results of this list are determined by people voting online, which leaves this list open to disagreement. 

  As I have stated, I strongly disagree with this list, I see it as an embarrassment.  Not only am I embarrassed that Britney Spears is above our president, but also, there were many names that I did not recognize. Therefore, from this little evaluation of Time’s List, I have realized that I should make myself more aware of the people within our world whom are REAL influences, such as The Pope and spend a little less time at looking at pretty pictures of N’Sync.

Leave a Reply

Categories

