Posted by: emilywil | October 25, 2009

Elements of Photography

This photo uses the point of entry element because as soon as you look at the picture you see the pink button.  There is also the graphic element.

This photo uses the point of entry element because as soon as you look at the picture you see the pink button. There is also the graphic element.

  We recently had to take a online course through Poynter University over photo journalism.  I learned alot about the different elements that must go into taking meaningful pictures. 

  There are three different types of photo:

  1. Informational: visual record of person, place, or event
  2. Passive: peoples main purpose is taking a picture for publication
  3. Active: real people involved in real situations at real time.

There are also numerous elements involved in taking a good photo.  For example, graphic, juxtaposition, layering, suprise, quality of lighting, mood, point of entry, rule of thirds, and many more. 

I learned alot from this online course.  I had no idea that so much went into taking a meaningful photo.  I was suprised by the rule of thirds, because I didn’t notice how many photos apply that rule.  Also, juxtapostion was my favorite element because I love the irony of some of the photos.  For example the older lady sitting next to a intamate couple in a train station. 

I would love to learn more about how to capture moods, suprise, and moments.  I also would like to learn how to expand lenses to capture larger settings.   Juxtapostion seems like it can be a little tricky, but since it is my favorite, I would love to learn more about it.

Leave a Reply

Categories

